Open Accessibility Menu

JPMF Awards 26 Scholarships for a Brighter Future

Jess Parrish Medical Foundation awarded $18,000 in scholarships to 26 high school and college students for the 2015–2016 school year. For over 20 years, JPMF has invested in the future by awarding medical scholarships to residents in North Brevard County who are pursuing careers that one day will provide healing care to our community.

This year’s scholarship winners were: Anna Bahr, Angel Hepburn, Kiersten Rosa, Kari Shaver and Max Williams – Astronaut High School; Jasmine Corriveau – Ave Maria University; Emily Catizone – Florida Gulf Coast University; Elena Simonsen – Florida State University; Lindsey Hartt – Space Coast Jr./Sr. High School; Megan Akimenko, Dylan Beitel, Kyle Eckhoff, Lynette Gonzalez, Minh-Chau Le, Jared McCain, Kyle Sellers, Ziying Zhang and Ziyan Zhang – Titusville High School; Amanda Cox and Kaley Galbreath – University of Central Florida; and Nicholas Andrews, Austin Folger, Alisa Mendez, Alexandra Parrish, Haley Symsyn-Schlemmer and Taylor Symsyn-Schlemmer – University of Florida.

Bill Terry, Scholarship Committee chair, has been volunteering at Parrish Medical Center for over 20 years and has helped PMC provide healing experiences for families and our community. By donating more than 29,000 hours of volunteer service and participating on the JPMF Board of Directors since 2007, Terry is working with PMC to improve, transform, and save lives.

“The scholarship committee takes their task of evaluating the applicants very seriously. It is with great pleasure we are able to award these scholarships to such deserving students. I’d also like to say a special thank you to Terry and Barbara Terhune for making a sponsorship of $1,000 towards the scholarship fund so more students could be awarded,” said Terry. Other committee members are Santi Bulnes, Dot Hudson, Terry Lee, Patricia Manning, Ed.D., Bill McCarthy, Roger Miller, Ron Norris, Howard Rinker, DDS, Philip Simpson and Barbara Terhune.

“When we partner together and invest in programs that support future generations of healthcare professionals, the entire community benefits. I want to thank the committee, applicants and JPMF for investing in a brighter future,” said Terry.