Open Accessibility Menu

Jess Parrish Medical Foundation and Parrish Medical Center Auxiliary Award Scholarships for Study in Healthcare and Medicine

TITUSVILLE, FLA. (May 5, 2020) — Jess Parrish Medical Foundation (JPMF) and Parrish Medical Center (PMC) Auxiliary awarded more than $14,000 in scholarships to 11 outstanding college students and graduating high school seniors that distinguished themselves through passionate dedication to their communities and a pursuit of studies in the fields of medicine or healthcare. Since 1990, JPMF has awarded more than $400,000 to deserving students.

Brevard Indo-American Medical and Dental Association (BIMDA), generous donor to the JPMF scholarship program, and dedicated to supporting future generations of healthcare professionals, committed funds through 2021 allowing for additional scholarships to be awarded.

“BIMDA is honored to partner with Jess Parrish Medical Foundation in supporting the educational endeavors of our future healthcare professionals,” said Glad Kurian, honorary executive director. “It is gratifying to know that BIMDA’s contributions to the scholarship program are assisting the award recipients in pursuing their educational and career goals.”

This year’s scholarship winners include, from Astronaut High School, Jordyn Barkhausen and Alisa Rendina; Merritt Island Christian awardee Brooke Kelleher; Richard Aviles from Merritt Island High School; and Titusville High School recipients Kenzington Allender and Siya Patel.

College students awarded scholarships include Hannah Barrow, Eastern Florida State College; Maddalena Fairchild, Florida Institute of Technology; Allison Hilton, University of Central Florida; Gabriella Lloyd, University of North Carolina; and Jessica O’Bryan from the University of South Florida.

Thanks to BIMDA’s support, Kenzington Allender, Alisa Rendina, Allison Hilton, Gabriella Lloyd and Jessica O’Bryan were each awarded additional scholarship funds.

Scholarship committee chair Barbara Terhune led the committee through the process of evaluating applicants in the areas of academic performance, awards and honors, extracurricular activities, leadership, community service and work experience, recommendation letters, application essay and PMC/JPMF affiliation.

“All of our recipients are exceptional and we look to them to lead the next generation in shaping the future of healthcare. We are delighted to be able to award our scholarships to such accomplished and deserving students," said Jessie Kirk, JPMF Board Chair. “I would also like to extend heartfelt thanks to BIMDA, and to Barbara and Terry Terhune for their generous sponsorship of $1,000 toward the scholarship fund which allowed for additional students to be awarded.”

Committee members include Santi Bulnes; Deborah Cox; Dot Hudson; Terry Lee; Bill McCarthy; Josh Norris; Howard Rinker, DDS; Philip Simpson, PhD; and Barbara Terhune.

JPMF is investing in the future by awarding medical scholarships to residents in North Brevard County who are pursuing careers that one day will provide healing to our community.