Open Accessibility Menu

JPMF Awards 21 Scholarships

Jess Parrish Medical Foundation awarded $17,500 in scholarships to 21 high school and college students for the 2014–2015 school year. For over 20 years, JPMF has invested in the future by awarding medical scholarships to residents in North Brevard County who are pursuing careers that one day will provide healing care to our community.

This year’s scholarship winners were: Drew Denson, Faith Eschweiler, Destiney Mann, Lillian Mayer and Haley Muldowney – Astronaut High School; Jasmine Corriveau – Ave Maria University; Sarah Oswald – Eastern Florida State College; Elena Simonsen – Florida State University; Patricia Morrison – Space Coast Jr./Sr. High School; James Cox, David Dean, Austin Folger, Alisa Mendez, Haley Symsyn-Schelemmer and Taylor Symsyn-Schlemmer – Titusville High School; Amanda Cox, Joseph Dean, Kaley Galbreath, Katherine Ivey and Megan Witcher – University of Central Florida; and Nicholas Andrews – University of Florida.

Bill Terry, Scholarship Committee chair, has been volunteering at Parrish Medical Center for 20 years and has helped PMC provide healing experiences for families and our community. By donating more than 28,000 hours of volunteer service and participating on the JPMF Board of Directors since 2007, Terry is working with PMC to improve, transform, and save lives.

“The scholarship committee takes their task of evaluating the applicants very seriously. It is with great pleasure we are able to award these scholarships to such deserving students,” said Terry. Other committee members are Santi Bulnes, Dot Hudson, Terry Lee, Patricia Manning, Ed.D., Bill McCarthy, Roger Miller, Ron Norris, Howard Rinker, DDS, Barbara Terhune and Michael Van Heusen.

“When we partner together and invest in programs that support future generations of healthcare professionals, the entire community benefits. I want to thank the committee, applicants and JPMF for investing in a brighter future,” said Terry.